The Han Dynasty Timeline

Han Dynasty Timeline in Chronological Order


206 BC Liu Bang, founder of the Han Dynasty, defeats the last Qin emperor, ending the Qin Dynasty.
202 BC Liu Bang is crowned Emperor Gaozu, marking the beginning of the Han Dynasty. He establishes the capital at Chang’an.
195 BC Emperor Gaozu dies and is succeeded by his son, Emperor Hui.
180 BC Emperor Hui dies and is succeeded by Emperor Wen, who introduces various reforms and lowers taxes.
141-87 BC Emperor Wu’s reign. He expands the Han Dynasty’s territory through military conquests, reaching present-day Korea, Vietnam, and Central Asia.
104-101 BC The Han Dynasty fights the War of the Heavenly Horses against the Dayuan Kingdom, ultimately obtaining Ferghana horses for their cavalry.
9 AD Wang Mang seizes the throne, establishing the Xin Dynasty and ending the Western Han period.
23 AD Wang Mang is overthrown, and the Han Dynasty is restored by Liu Xiu, who becomes Emperor Guangwu. The Eastern Han period begins, and the capital is moved to Luoyang.
58-75 AD Emperor Ming’s reign. Buddhism is introduced to China during his rule.
105 AD Cai Lun invents paper, revolutionizing Chinese writing and record-keeping.
166 AD The first known contact between the Han Dynasty and the Roman Empire occurs when a Roman envoy reaches Luoyang.
189 AD Emperor Ling dies, leading to a power struggle and the decline of the Han Dynasty.
190 AD The warlord Dong Zhuo seizes control of the Han court and places a puppet emperor, Emperor Xian, on the throne.
208 AD The Battle of Red Cliffs takes place, a pivotal event in the era of the Three Kingdoms. The allied forces of Sun Quan and Liu Bei defeat Cao Cao’s army.
220 AD Emperor Xian abdicates, and the Han Dynasty officially ends. The Three Kingdoms period begins with the formation of the states of Wei, Shu, and Wu.
280 AD The Jin Dynasty unifies China, ending the Three Kingdoms period and marking the beginning of the Sixteen Kingdoms and Southern and Northern Dynasties period.