Nelson Mandela Timeline


Nelson Mandela Timeline in Chronological Order

1918 July 18. Nelson Mandela is born in Mvezo, a small village in the Eastern Cape province of South Africa.
1939 Mandela begins attending the University of Fort Hare, but is forced to leave after participating in a student strike.
1941 Mandela moves to Johannesburg and completes his bachelor’s degree by correspondence.
1942 Mandela joins the African National Congress (ANC).
1944 Mandela helps found the ANC Youth League.
1952 Mandela becomes a lawyer and opens a law firm with Oliver Tambo.
1955 Mandela participates in the Congress of the People and helps draft the Freedom Charter, which calls for a non-racial democratic South Africa.
1956 Mandela and over 150 other activists are arrested and charged with high treason, but are eventually acquitted.
1960 The ANC is banned by the South African government.
1962 Mandela is arrested and sentenced to five years in prison for leaving the country without permission and inciting a strike.

While in prison, Mandela is charged with sabotage and sentenced to life in prison.

1982 Mandela is transferred from Robben Island to Pollsmoor Prison in Cape Town.
1985 International pressure on the South African government to end apartheid increases.

Feb 11. Mandela is released from prison after 27 years.

Mandela becomes the leader of the ANC and begins negotiations with the government to end apartheid.

1993 Mandela and South African President F.W. de Klerk are awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for their work to end apartheid.

Apr 27. The first multi-racial elections in South Africa are held, and Mandela is elected as the country’s first black president.

Mandela introduces a number of reforms aimed at ending discrimination and promoting reconciliation between different racial groups.

1999 Mandela steps down as president and is succeeded by Thabo Mbeki.
2013 Dec 5. Mandela dies at the age of 95.