Hellenistic Period of Ancient Greece

The Hellenistic Period of Ancient Greece begins with the death of Alexander the Great in 323 B.C. and lasts until the the Roman Empire conquered the last of the Greek territories, signified by the final defeat of the Ptolemaic Kingdom at the Battle of Actium in 31 B.C. After Alexander the Great’s death, his generals split up his Empire into several territories or realms which ultimately resulted in the spread of Greek culture during the Hellenistic Period. The great centers of Greek culture became centered in the newer regions: Alexandria in Ptolemaic, Egypt and Antioch in Seleucid Syria.

Hellenistic Period of Ancient Greece (323 – 146 BC)

323 BC alexander-the-great_sAlexander the Great passed away. The Empire begins to collapse rapidly as his generals compete for power.
323–322 BC Lamian War
322-320 BC Diadochi_satraps_babylon_sFirst War of the Diadochi
320 BC Triparadisus Partition: Alexander’s generals agree to share power.
320–311 BC Second War of the Diadochi
317 BC Cassander-sCassander murdered Alexander’s son and rose to power in Macedonia and Greece.
310 BC Zeno of Citium establishes the Stoic School in Athens
307 BC Epicurus_sEpicurus establishes the Philosophic School in Athens
300 BC Euclid wrote Elements, a treatise on geometry and mathematics
295 BC Demeter_Pio-Clementino_Inv254_sAthens fell to Demetrius and Lachares was killed.
290 BC The Colossus was built in Rhodos
281 BC The Achaean League was formed
280–275 BC Pyrrhic-and-his-troops_sPyrrhic War
279 BC Gauls invaded the Balkans
277 BC Antigonus II Gonatas defeated the Gaul and became the king of Macedonia
274 BC Pyrrhus_sPyrrhus invaded Greece and Macedonia
274–271 BC First Syrian War
272 BC Antigonus_Gonatas_British_Museum_s Antigonus II Gonatas defeated Pyrrhus
267–262 BC Chremonidean War
265 BC Archimedes developed Archimedes’ screw, center of gravity, specific gravity, and other discoveries regarding integral calculus
261 BC Antigonus II Gonatas took over Athens
260–253 BC Near_east_satellite_sSecond Syrian War
246–241 BC Third Syrian War
239 BC Antigonus II Gonatas passed away. Demetrius II succeeded him
229 BC Statue_of_Theseus,_Syntagma_Square._Athens._Greece_sAthens acquired its independence
219–217 BC Fourth Syrian War
216 BC Didrachme_Philippe_V_sPhilip V joined forces with Hannibal of Carthage
214–205 BC First Macedonian War
203–200 BC Fifth Syrian War
200–196 BC Macedonia_and_the_Aegean_World_c.200_s Second Macedonian War
197 BC Philip V lost to the Romans at Kynoskephalai
192–188 BC Roman-Syrian War
179 BC Firenze-Loggia-Perseus_sPhilip V passed away. Perseus succeeded him
172–167 BC Third Macedonian War
170–168 BC Sixth Syrian War
168 BC The Romans defeated Perseus and ended the Antigonid Dynasty
150–148 BC Fourth Macedonian War
149 BC The Romans annexed Macedonia as a province

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *